President Trump and an army of journalists debunked a dubious Atlantic magazine blog post claiming that Trump had disparaged the military

Of course, the story was based on anonymous sources and did not surface until 59 days before the election.

More from BPR:

This desperate left-wing attack is patently absurd because Trump has been a vocal supporter of the U.S. Armed Forces since Day 1. And the military supports Trump right back.

Nevertheless, the President posted a Breitbart story dispelling claims that Fox News’ Jennifer Griffin had confirmed the Atlantic blog post entitled “Trump: Americans Who Died in War Are ‘Losers’ and ‘Suckers’.”

The Atlantic claimed that in 2018, Trump had called fallen U.S. troops in World War I France “losers” and “suckers” and that he had canceled a visit to a military cemetery because he didn’t want to get hair wet.

A dozen current and former administration officials went on the record to rubbish the claims. Among them was former White House press secretary Sarah Sanders.

Sanders tweeted: “The Atlantic story is total BS. I was actually there and one of the people part of the discussion. This never happened…I am disgusted by this false attack.”

https://twitter.com/realannapaulina/status/1302080722090504193

President Trump’s unwavering support for the Armed Forces is no secret. In 2017, Trump paid homage to fallen soldiers during a somber Memorial Day service, where he said their legacies “will endure forever.”

While laying wreaths on tombstones at Arlington National Cemetery, Trump was approached by a grieving mother who had lost her son in battle.

Alison Malachowski is the mom of Staff Sgt. Jimmy Malachowski, who was killed in 2011. Mrs. Malachowksi said she was heartbroken that Barack Obama never acknowledged her son’s sacrifice.

“Mr. Trump, my son was killed in Afghanistan in 2011, and nobody made any effort to acknowledge it,” Malachowski said.

“I did,” Trump replied.

“It means a lot to me, it really does,” Mrs. Malachowksi said. “My son loved this country very, very much. Jimmy knew he wasn’t coming home. And he said, ‘Mama, I hope that people don’t forget that I lived.’ If you could just remember Jimmy, that would mean so much to me.”

“I will remember,” President Trump promised. “I will remember.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.